2022年08月05日
倡导国际合作
- 兰迪·谢克曼,世界顶尖科学家协会副主席

首先,我想说的是,我希望代表一个新的承诺,一个关于就我们作为人类共同体而不仅仅是单个国家所面临的问题进行国际合作的承诺。我们还没有征服上个世纪最大的健康危机,然而越来越多的国家为战胜新冠疫情采取的有意义的合作设置了障碍。一旦这场危机被克服,我敦促我们提前计划,因为如果我们没有准备好,此类疫情将再次出现。


除了我们和其他国家在试图控制SARS-CoV 2的传播时犯下的许多后勤保障错误外,我们最大的错误可能是没有预见到另一种致命的冠状病毒的出现。从18年前的SARS和8年前的MERS出现开始,我们应该组织国际间公私领域的合作,攻击病毒的核心。然而,这些流行病消退得太快了,不足以证明制药业在研发和销售药物方面的投资是合理的——每个成功的药物研发及应用都消耗了数十亿美元。如果一切顺利,我们将拥有合理的SARS-CoV 2疫苗。但是在2008年SARS中康复的病人只保留了一两个季节的免疫力。因此,疫苗可能必须像每年的流感疫苗一样定期提供。


艾滋病病毒和流感病毒等的表面抗原的自然进化使得我们很难预测候选疫苗的出现。同样,我们还没有生产出一种对各种冠状病毒变体都有效的疫苗。相比之下,病毒基因组编码的核心机器对随机突变的灵活性较低,因此更适合以药物的形式进行有针对性的化学攻击,以阻断对病毒繁殖至关重要的功能。


这是一个艰难的教训,但我们成功治疗艾滋病毒的这个例子,现在可以指引我们努力掌控冠状病毒当前和未来变体。这一努力必须在全世界各国政府的大力支持下进行公私领域合作——即使我们有成功的SARS-CoV 2疫苗,也必须持续进行。

0.115390s

August 05, 2022
Advocate for International Cooperation
- Randy Schekman, Nobel laureate, WLA Vice-Chairman

Let me start by saying, I wish to speak on behalf of a renewed commitment to international cooperation on the problems we face as a people and not merely as individual countries. We've not yet conquered the greatest health crisis of the past century and yet increasingly countries have erected barriers to meaningful cooperation to defeat COVID-19. Once this crisis is overcome, I urge that we plan ahead as pandemics of this sort will re-emerge if we're not prepared.


Aside from the many logistical errors we and others made in attempting to contain the spread of SARS-CoV 2, our greatest mistake may have been in not anticipating the emergence or yet another deadly Coronavirus. Beginning with SARS 18 years ago, and MERS eight years ago, we should have mounted an international public-private effort to attack the virus at its core. However these epidemics subsided too quickly to have justified an investment by the pharmaceutical industry in the discovery and marketing of drugs, an effort that consumes billions of dollars for each successful application. If all goes well, we'll have a reasonable SARS-CoV 2 vaccine sometime next year. But patients who recovered in SARS in 2008 retained immunity for only a season or two. Thus a vaccine may have to be delivered as regularly as the annual flu shot.


Natural evolution of the surface antigens on viruses such as HIV and flu makes it difficult to anticipate a vaccine candidate. Likewise, we have yet to produce a vaccine that works on a variety of Coronavirus variants. In contrast, the core machinery that a virus's genome encodes is less flexible to random mutation, and therefore more amenable to targeted chemical attack in the form of drugs that work to block functions essential for virus reproduction.


This is a difficult lesson, but triumph of our successful approach to HIV therapy and that example must now guide our efforts to master the present and future versions of the Coronavirus. This effort must be sustained with substantial support from governments around the world for a public-private effort, even if we have a successful vaccine for SARS-CoV 2.

0.824028s