2022年08月05日
扶持青年成长
- 朱棣文,世界顶尖科学家协会副主席

我想谈谈一些关于我自己和我将要展开讲的内容。我是斯坦福大学物理系的一名教授,同时也是医学院分子和细胞生理学教授。


而我如何选择我的职业,如何选择我想集中精力研究的东西,我将在我另一个20分钟的演讲中谈及,现在让我给大家做个预览。


我发现,在我年轻时选择职业的时候,实际上我没有什么选择空间。我的父母说,我们家的每个人都应该是一个科学家,一个学者。当然,年轻的时候,我反抗了,但后来,当我在高中离开家庭,上了大学后,我实际上发现,这却正是我想做的事。


但是,选择仍然有很多,所以,我希望通过我的发言,能让你们感受到我可以如何帮助你们在你们的生活中做出选择,让你们的生活变得丰富、有价值、让你们满意。


我回顾我的生活,发现确实如此——回顾现在我50年的科学工作,我不可能选择一个更好的职业。在我想用我的生命做什么事情上,我不可能做出更好的选择。现在,我仍然每周工作60、70个小时,除了特殊情况。事实上在过去的四五天里,我一直在凌晨一、二、三点钟睡觉,每天工作15、16个小时,给国家卫生研究所写一份提案,这样我可以得到更多的资金支持,做更多的科学研究。


就在我写提案的过程中,我被新的想法淹没,并再次被提醒,我做科学是多么幸福!


0.119546s

August 05, 2022
Committed to the Development of Youth
- Steven Chu, Nobel laureate, WLA Vice-Chairman

Let me tell you a little bit about myself and what I'm going to be talking about. I'm a professor in the physics department at Stanford University. I'm also a professor in the medical school, in a department called molecular and cellular physiology.


And how I chose my profession, and how I chose what I wanted to concentrate on and study is something I will talk about in my 20 minute remarks. But let me give you a preview of what's going on.


What I find is when I was young, and choosing a career, I actually wasn't given a choice. My parents said, everybody in our family should be a scientist, an academic. But of course, young, I rebelled, but later on, as soon as I left the family situation in high school and went to college, I actually discovered that that's precisely what I wanted to do.


But still, there are many choices, and I hope in my remarks to you, I will give you a feeling of how I can help you make your choices on what you want to do with your life, so that it will be rich, rewarding, satisfying to you.


I look upon my life and see that indeed, looking upon now 50 years of doing science that I could not have chosen a better profession. I could not have made a better choice in what I wanted to do with my life. Right now, I still work 60, 70 hours a week, except in special circumstances, and indeed in the last four or five days, I've been going to bed at one, two, three o' clock in the morning working 15, 16 hours a day, writing a proposal to the national institutes of health, so I can get more funding and do additional science.


But in the process of writing the proposal, I was flooded with new ideas, and was reminded again of how happy I am doing science.

0.181357s